top of page

Oatlands are Div 3 Champions!

19 Aug 2022

OPBC secured the NWSBA's Mixed League Division 3 title in spectacular fashion last night in front of their home supporters. Needing at least a draw from this last match against Esher to secure the league with an overall points majority, they found themselves 2-12 down after ten ends. Showing real grit and determination, they fought their way back into the fixture but still trailed by 12-14 with one end to play. Time and time again during this campaign, the OPBC Mixed Team have come up with the goods when it mattered. They did it again winning the eighteenth end by four points and the match by 16-14.
The last time OPBC won this league was in 2005. There have been numerous changes in the Club since then and for some years OPBC were unable to enter a mixed team. This season however, with a number of new lady members, (most of whom hadn't been bowling for a full season), the Club decided to enter a mixed team again, purely to give their players experience. Not in their wildest dreams did they expect to win the league. Of the twelve games played, OPBC won nine and lost three, with a shot aggregate of 222 to 160, winning the league with eighteen points.
Members who represented OPBC in this season's title win are: Ciaran Duke, Chris Koehli, Jan Koehli, Gus Romero, Anthony Shelton, Patti Stevely and Claire Smith. The squad was skippered by Mike Farris.

bottom of page